Monday, September 29, 2008

Swedenborg symposium

Announcing a Swedenborg symposium at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm, Sweden, Monday through Wednesday, June 7–9, 2010: "Emanuel Swedenborg–Exploring a “World memory”: Context, Content, Contribution."

In 2006 UNESCO designated Emanuel Swedenborg’s (1688–1772) archive to be preserved as part of their “World Memory” program. In the following year the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences started the project of producing a modern catalogue of the Swedenborg archive, in digital and bound formats. The Swedenborg Symposium in 2010 will celebrate the completion of this catalogue project.

The three-day Symposium will explore:

  • The 18th Century Swedish and European contexts of Swedenborg’s writings
  • The contents and form of his texts: scientific, philosophical, religious and linguistic aspects.
  • The contribution of his thoughts: cultural and religious.

Call for Papers: original contributions investigating some aspect of the themes listed above are invited for oral presentation at the Symposium. Deadline for abstracts (approx. 250 words) is January 31, 2009. Abstracts should be sent to

Thursday, September 11, 2008

New discussion group on Facebook

With the aim of promoting the study of Hermetism, Western Esotericism, and related currents, Iván Elvira has created a new discussion group on Facebook, called Studia Hermetica like the website

If you want to participate, you have to create a Facebook account, and send Iván Elvira a message with your request. The languages of this new discussion group are Spanish, English and French. The discussion group is aimed at students and enthusiasts of Hermetism and Esoteric thought. The questions that will be dealt with are wide, and nothing will be avoided. People who profess a Hermetic or Esoteric belief are welcome, but are warned that "Studia Hermetica" is an academic discussion group. Bibliographical references and a correct way of expression are obligatory.

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

ESSWE PhD Thesis Prize

Nominations are invited for the first biennial ESSWE PhD Thesis prize, awarded by the board of the European Society for the Study of Western Esotericism. The prize will be given for an outstanding European PhD thesis completed between 1 January 2007 and 1 March 2009 on any aspect of Western Esotericism (broadly conceived). The thesis may be European in the sense of having been submitted at a university in Europe, or in the sense of having been submitted by a European citizen at a university anywhere in the world. The thesis must have been approved formally by the nominee's thesis committee, but the degree need not have been formally awarded.

The prizewinner will be notified in May 2009 and will receive an award of €500 and a certificate, to be presented at the ESSWE conference in Strasbourg, 2-4 July 2009. The thesis will also be recommended for publication in the ARIES Book Series, though the final decision on publication will be taken by the ARIES Book Series editorial board, not the Prize Committee. If it deems that no thesis reaches an appropriate standard, the Prize Committee will not award a prize.

Nominations must be made by electronic mail to the Chair of the Prize Committee, Mark Sedgwick (Aarhus University, Denmark, by 1 March 2009. The nominator must be a faculty member at the institution that awards the nominee’s PhD degree, or a member of the nominee’s thesis committee. Each nominator may make only one nomination. The applications should consist of pdf files of the following material:
  1. A letter of nomination
  2. The nominee's thesis
  3. A separate summary of the thesis, written by the nominee, of no more than ten pages (double spaced)
  4. A brief biographical sketch of the nominee
  5. Documentation to show that the thesis has been approved
Items 1, 3 and 4 must be in English. Item 2 may be in any one of the following languages: English, French, German, Italian, or Spanish. Item 5 may be in any language, so long as a translation into English is provided if it is not in English, French, German, Italian, or Spanish.

The Prize Committee consists of:
  • Mark Sedgwick, Aarhus (Chair)
  • Andreas Kilcher, Zurich
  • Jean-Pierre Brach, Paris